Engaging Minds, Transforming Lives


Psychology is the scientific study of the mind and behavior.  The discipline is multi-faceted and contains a wide range of subfields.

The Southwestern University Psychology Department is represented by 6 faculty members whose subfields include social psychology, behavioral neuroscience, personality psychology, clinical psychology, lifespan psychology, health psychology, and cognitive psychology.
Southwestern faculty are engaged teacher-scholars who are committed to providing rigorous educational experiences in the classroom, laboratory, internships, and through mentoring relationships so that students gain a rich knowledge of and enthusiasm for psychology.


By providing opportunities to develop advanced skills in oral and written communication, critical thinking, creative problem solving, and quantitative reasoning, students will be prepared for success in graduate school in psychology and related fields, for careers that value these skills, and for futures as lifelong learners who are prepared to adapt to an ever-changing world. Students who major  in psychology can choose to complete a Bachelor of Arts (BA) or a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree; students who minor in Psychology can complement work toward other degrees (popular choices include biology/pre-med, sociology, and business).

Department News